No, Pastor… I Won’t Refer The Lost And Dying To You

by Hope Wingo

This afternoon I found myself in a mild state of mourning. A different kind of grief; a loss that I’m sure most of my readers will understand.

I’ve been planning my first Tract Ministry trip to Jacksonville. Knowing from experience that people may ask me to recommend a local church to them, I’ve been searching through many of the city’s church websites.

This is not an easy task.

Yesterday, I found a church that I thought was perfect, and I was absolutely delighted that I had actually found one. I made plans to attend one of their midweek services during my visit. I listened to several of the pastor’s sermons. My overall impression was that it was a mid-size church that taught sound doctrine.  It didn’t strike me as Seeker-Friendly, NAR, or Mega-Church oriented, although one sermon did raise a red flag when the word “Emergent” was mentioned.  Although that seemed odd to me, it didn’t stand out enough for me to go back and listen to the sermon again.

After listening to a few more sermons, I emailed the pastor and told him that I was looking for a church that I could recommend to others. In order to make sure that we were like-minded, I asked him to read my tract and to let me know if he disagreed with anything that it said.  As of this writing, I haven’t received a response.

In the meantime, I kept searching the church’s website for anything that I could find that would possibly go against biblical doctrine. I was looking for any connection to the Emergent, Unity, NAR, etc. Eventually, I clicked on a PDF called Connections, then scrolled down to their Women’s Ministry. I was greeted with an announcement of a Beth Moore Simulcast. I also found an announcement of an upcoming ladies’ study based on Beth Moore teachings that was being held by a woman who shared the pastor’s last name.

So, today I mourn… I ask that my readers join me in prayer about this. This is really important to me, in that my greatest fear is to give someone a hunger for Jesus, then send them to a church that will fill their minds with false doctrine and apostate teaching. Please pray that the Lord will lead me in this search.

Oh, … and pastor, if you should come across this post, please disregard my email to you. I don’t need your approval after all.

This entry was posted in Articles and Posts - Original to 1Way2Yahweh and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No, Pastor… I Won’t Refer The Lost And Dying To You

  1. Praying for you and your ministry. Bless you for being so diligent and careful!

    Like

  2. Tom says:

    I pray for you and I understand your dilemma. I could never go back to Baptist fundamentalism where we started but most of the evangelical churches seem to be jumping on board the emergent/seeker model. I like a lot of what the conservative reformed guys stand for but I don’t agree with all Presbyterian doctrine. The non-denominational church we attend has Baptist roots and is solid theologically but definitely leans towards attracting young people – CCM music only and lots of technology. I’m so adamant about some secondary issues that there’s probably not a church in my area that I would be completely happy with. Our church doesn’t embrace Catholicism and pretty much stays away from nationalism/patriotism and those are two important plusses for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Could you please forward some links to specific areas where you disagree with Beth Moore? I’m not a big fan of hers, if for no other reason that I don’t like her personality. However, without having done much research into her teaching, all I have had to go on are angry, suspiciously over-the-top accusations (and as you may know, not everything you read on the Internet is true). Being that you do subscribe to my blog, I hope you don’t find me heretical…or do you?

    Like

  4. Thank you. I have looked at a few things and what I see is definitely disturbing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

